Check back for brand new posts every Monday through Friday!

CP Bialois' Call of Poseidon available now on! Coming soon to in print! (Check the "Contests" page for a giveaway)

Special post on a new release coming 11-11-11 (will also be celebrating National Metal Day)!!

01 October 2011

Del McCoury "Old Memories" Through the Grapevine

Got this info and wanted to share it with everyone.....


Legendary band records 16 tracks in tribute to Bill Monroe, "The Father of Bluegrass Music"

Vinyl + Digital Download also available.

Del MccouryDel McCoury is a bluegrass legend, and with Old Memories: The Songs of Bill Monroe, available digitally through McCoury Music today, Del and his band pay tribute to another bluegrass legend. September 13th would have marked Bill Monroe's 100th birthday, and although there have been plenty of tributes to the Father of Bluegrass Music, this album is particularly special due to Del's apprenticeship with Monroe. He served a life-changing year with Monroe's Blue Grass Boys from 1963-1964.
"Old Memories: The Songs of Bill Monroe": Listen to the album now
Behind The Scenes/"Making Of" | Video (approved for posting)
On this sixteen-track set, Del is backed, as always, by his ace Del McCoury Band-son Ronnie on the mandolin, son Rob on the banjo, long-time fiddler Jason Carter and veteran Alan Bartram on bass. Whether they're staples of the bluegrass repertoire or resurrected rarities, what each song has in common is an incomparable authenticity, bestowed in equal measure by Del McCoury's personal connection to Monroe and his music, and by his unalloyed musical integrity. And in the end, that makes Old Memories: The Songs Of Bill Monroe not just the tribute to Bill Monroe that it's intended to be, but a tribute, too, to the newest member of the Bluegrass Hall of Fame-Del McCoury.
Old Memories: The Songs of Bill Monroe track listing:
1. Watermelon on the Vine
2. Live and Let Live
3. Lonesome Truck Driver's Blues
4. Brakeman's Blues
5. Close By
6. In Despair
7. Girl in the Blue Velvet Band
8. John Henry
9. I'm Blue I'm Lonesome
10. Used to Be
11. Alabama Waltz
12. Lonesome Road Blues
13. Heavy Traffic Ahead
14. Train 45 (Heading South)
15. My Rose of Old Kentucky
16. Ya'll Come

Del McCoury Online: Website | Facebook
Old Memories: The Songs of Bill Monroe: Digital Download | LP + Digital Download*
*Digital download available immediately. LP available October 25th.

No comments: